The Best Band You’ve (Probably) Never Heard Of!

During my last fall semester in college I studied abroad in Japan. The trip to and from was pure hell, I worked my ass off reading for courses, and I traveled solo and with my program group a fair amount. Needless to say, there was little time for extra-curricular activity. However, there was one thing on my list of to-dos that topped all else: See Guitar Wolf play live!!!

If you haven’t heard of Guitar Wolf, then do yourself a favor and YouTube them now. They’re a Japanese trio with origins going back to 1987, but pulling largely from ’77 Punk, rockabilly, and garage with a look between The Ramones and Link Wray, and MAN do they put on one hell of a show! But this post ain’t about them. Its about a little known group out of Nashville who opened for them during their Fall Tour in Japan….

/

I had been in Japan for about 2 weeks and become somewhat acclimated to my apartment and the surrounding block or so of downtown Kyoto. I decided to take an afternoon off from my roaming about town to relax and use up some of my accommodation’s (very) limited wi-fi data to find out when and where Guitar wolf would be playing in Japan in the near future. I came across this:

Being unfamiliar with the opening acts, King Brothers and Hans Condor, I did a quick search online and hit the proverbial jackpot. The Bros. were an alright and tight rock group, but Condor were something else. Their off-the-cuff music video for their track “Time, Rhyme, or Reason” was a salute to all the proto-punk garage acts I had been immersing myself in for the past few months: Low-fi recording, blitzkrieg-tempo, auto-destructive art. It hearkened back to and championed the power of The MC5, the destructiveness and assuredness of The Who, the swagger of Thunders and the Dolls, The Dictator’s kitch, and I knew then that I HAD to see these guys in action….

/(To Be Continued Here)

Feel free to comment

indieundergroundblog

The definitive source for indie rock, rock'n'roll, post punk, & grunge

Stuff and That.

We do reviews, ya dig?

AMERICA ON COFFEE

Americans' daily coffee ritual.....

jhubner73

Midwestern groaning since 2011

KamerTunesBlog

Revisiting my extensive music collection, one artist at a time

Stick It In Your Ear

Rock Album, Concert Reviews And The Odd Book Review

Erika Kind

Be the change you wish to see in the world - Mahatma Gandhi

Knocked Over By A Feather

IT WAS A BIG FUCKING FEATHER...

